- ©

For the watchmaker’s needs, we designed a new kind of building.

Built horizontally on the hill, the Manufacture fits discreetly into this landscape resulting from the folds of the Jura. Its surroundings create a succession of biotopes characteristic of the region. The whole blends into the geography of the Jura and the astral time. The contours and materials are chosen to intensify the user’s or visitor’s experience of the environment, natural light and the movement of the sun.

The Manufacture houses all the programmes necessary for the manufacture of the most complicated watch movements: research and development, machining, decoration, assembly and administration. These work areas all meet the most demanding requirements of industrialisation and fine watchmaking. They are arranged on the hillside in such a way as to maintain multiple links with its topography, its views and the light necessary for the various watchmaking activities.

The Manufacture has an industrial vocation and brings together on one and the same level all the manufacturing and assembly stations for the precious movements. In a centripetal manner, the necessary programmes find their place according to their orientation and the light they capture. The workshops in the calm northern light and the administration in the dynamic southern light.
In the centre there is a large meeting space which has been named Piazza by the users. It is a place for informal exchanges, workshops, co-creation, and the multiplicity of knowledge that encourages interaction between people, networking of skills and the creation of a strong identity for the watchmakers on the site.

The architecture of the Manufacture has been developed around the comfort and well-being of the craftsmen and the experience of users during their visit, while anticipating the future challenges of the industry and work habits.

In this way, the Manufacture combines the needs of the most advanced industry with the desire for creativity and social emulation of a company resolutely turned towards the future.

ARCHITECTURE OF ATMOSPHERE AND COMFORT

The Manufacture was designed to offer optimised spaces for the design and production of watches, but also to provide employees with spaces for exchange, meeting and socialising.

The natural light was studied in close collaboration with EPFL professor Marilyne Andersen and her laboratory LIPID, as well as her consulting firm Oculight Dynamics. This collaboration has enabled us to implement the most advanced research on light performance, user well-being and psycho-physiology.

The different spaces benefit from natural light, which creates a rich and dynamic interior landscape.

The artificial lighting has been designed with the same attention to detail, in order to provide the workshops with optimal light for the work of the watchmakers. To achieve this, we collaborated with Davide Opizzi, director of DCUBE, and the lighting manufacturer Artemide, in order to develop tailor-made luminaires perfectly adapted to the needs of the various trades.

THE FUTURE OF WORK AND INDUSTRY

The Manufacture is designed as a tool perfectly adapted to the contemporary needs of Fine Watchmaking, and flexible enough to adapt to future industrial changes. The knowledge silos are open to allow co-creation.

The industrial platforms are each oriented according to their own needs in terms of natural light, and are all on the same large, continuous level, allowing for easy exchange of parts and movements between the different workshops.

CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE

In parallel with its industrial activity, the Manufacture was designed to receive customers and partners. Its visitor flow has been organised and optimised to offer customers a unique experience in which they are successively immersed in the geography of the region, in the brand’s codes, but also in the heart of the workshops. The architecture thus allows them to discover the work of the watchmakers in an immersive way and to discover a world that is often kept secret.

Watch Manufacture Le Locle

Built

Le Locle

2021

- ©

Pour les besoins de l’horloger, nous avons conçu un bâtiment d’un genre nouveau.

Construite horizontalement sur la colline, la Manufacture s’intègre discrètement dans ce paysage issu des plissements du Jura. Ses abords créent comme une succession de biotopes caractéristiques de la région. L’ensemble se fond dans la géographie du Jura et le temps astral. Les contours et les matériaux sont choisis pour intensifier l’expérience de l’usager ou du visiteur avec l’environnement, la lumière naturelle et le mouvement du soleil.

La Manufacture accueille l’ensemble des programmes nécessaires à la fabrication mouvements de montres les plus compliqués: la recherche et le développement, l’usi­nage, la décoration, l’assemblage et l’administration. Ce sont des espaces de travail qui répondent tous aux attentes les plus pointues de l’industrialisation et de la Haute Horlo­gerie. Ils sont disposés sur la colline de manière à entretenir des liens multiples avec sa topographie, ses vues, et la lumière nécessaires aux différentes activités horlogères.

A vocation industrielle, la Manufacture rassemble sur un seul et même niveau tous les postes de fabrication et d’assemblage des précieux mouvements. De manière centripète, les programmes nécessaires trouvent leur place en fonction de leur orientation et des lumières qu’ils captent. Les ateliers dans la lumière calme du nord et l’administration dans la lumière dynamique du sud.
Au centre se trouve un grand espace de rencontre qui a été nommé Piazza par les uti­lisateurs. C’est un lieu d’échange informel, de workshop, de co-création, de multiplicité des savoirs permettant de favoriser l’interaction entre les personnes, de mettre en réseau les compétences mais aussi de créer une identité forte pour les horlo­gers du site.

L’architecture de la Manufacture s’est développée autour du confort et du bien-être des artisans et de l’expérience des usagers dans leur parcours de visite, tout en anticipant les enjeux futurs de l’industrie et des habitudes de travail.

Ainsi, la Manufacture allie les besoins de l’industrie la plus pointue à la volonté de créati­vité et d’émulation sociale d’une entreprise résolument tournée vers l’avenir.

ARCHITECTURE DE L’ATMOSPHÈRE ET DU CONFORT

La Manufacture a été conçue pour proposer des espaces optimisés pour le travail de de­sign et de fabrication des montres, mais aussi pour offrir aux collaborateurs des espaces d’échange, de rencontre et de socialisation.

La lumière naturelle a été étudiée en étroite collaboration avec la professeure EPFL Mari­lyne Andersen et son laboratoire LIPID, ainsi que sa société de conseil Oculight Dynamics. Cette collaboration nous a permis d’implémenter les recherches les plus avancées en matière de performance lumineuse, de bien-être des utilisateurs et de psycho-physiologie.

Les différents espaces profitent d’une lumière naturelle qui permet de créer un paysage intérieur riche et dynamique.

L’éclairage artificiel a été conçu avec la même attention, afin d’offrir aux ateliers une lumière optimale pour le travail des horlogers. Pour cela, nous avons collaboré avec Davide Opizzi, directeur de la société DCUBE, et le fabricant de lumière Artemide, afin de mettre au point des luminaires sur-mesure parfaitement adapté aux bseoins des différents métiers.

FUTUR DU TRAVAIL ET DE L’INDUSTRIE

La Manufacture est imaginée comme un outil parfaitement adapté aux besoins contem­porains de la Haute Horlogerie, et suffisamment flexible pour s’adapter aux mutations industrielles à venir. Les silos des savoirs sont ouverts afin de permettre la co-création.

Les plateaux industriels sont orientés chacun en fonction de leurs besoins propres en lumière naturelle, et se trouvent tous sur un grand et même niveau continu, permettant un échange facilité des pièces et mouvements entre les différents ateliers.

EXPÉRIENCE CLIENT

Parallèlement à son activité industrielle, la Manufacture a été conçue pour pouvoir recevoir des clients et des partenaires. Son flux visiteur a été organisé et optimisé pour offrir au client une expérience unique dans laquelle il est immergé successivement dans la géographie de la région, dans les codes de la marque, mais aussi au coeur des ateliers. L’architecture leur permet ainsi de découvrir de manière immersive le travail des horlo­gères et horlogers et découvrir un monde souvent gardé secret.

Manufacture horlogère Le Locle

Réalisé

Le Locle

2021